Let the Games Begin!

My sisters are great!

Ten, twelve, maybe twenty times a year, we start a diet contest. Out of the blue, an email arrives and it reads something like this:

No carbs for 48 hours – who’s in?

The emails fly back and forth.

“Do you mean no carbs or low carbs?”

“When do the 48 hours start – can it wait until after bowling?”

“Tammy, where are you? Are you in?”

At some point, four of the five of us sisters throw our diet hats into the ring. (The youngest of us has no need for our contests.) We start with a vengeance. Emails, myfitnesspal postings, texts and even an actual phone call or two pass back and forth and the contest takes life.

That no-carb contest – I made it one day, lost 2 pounds and had my girlfriend Christmas party the following night. I ate taco dip and chips and drank wine and found those two misguided pounds along with another one that didn’t have any other home so it followed the others and slapped themselves onto my gut. I hid out and avoided myfitnesspal, my email, my Facebook and my sisters for a couple of days until all the diet talk died down. And then, all was quiet on the diet front until the latest gauntlet was thrown out.

Dawn sent out the following email yesterday to kick the latest can.

Challenge! Send me $5 and you can play along. 

Forward to anyone who is willing to open their MFP up to our inspection.

The person who logs in and is under her calorie limit the most wins. Simple simon. In the case of a tie we will go into sudden death and the woman who stays under longest wins the pot!

What do ya say???? 

And the game begins! Real cash is in the mail.  Four of the five sisters are in, but wait.

“What are the rules?”

“Are we talking about the big number or the little number?”

“Is it calories before exercise or after exercise?”

“Huh, I’m confused.”

“Will someone just set the damn rules…we need rules!”

I laugh. I read, respond, ponder, read, laugh, respond, laugh, read and finally get it. The rules have been set and the game begins. It’s a 21-day game and lo and behold, it’s even been opened up to unsuspecting non-family members.

Let the fun begin. I’m in. I’m in for the long haul. I will, I swear I will make it the full 21 days! I will be slim, trim, svelte, sexy and oh so thin in three weeks! And, even better, I’ll be $20 richer and I’ll kick my sisters’ respective asses! Ah, the love of family!

I love my sisters. They make this war against weight worth fighting and even a little bit like fun!

 

IMG_0269 IMG_0274

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JustDeb
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 10:35:52

    Great! I do it for the interaction. Weight loss would just be the cherry on top and of course, all that money.

    Reply

  2. JustDeb
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 10:37:02

    Reblogged this on getoutamyhead and commented:
    This is from my sister’s blog. Yes, yet one more diet contest with the girls.

    Reply

  3. JustDeb
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 10:38:13

    Are those pics from the same day? At Dawns?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

